Abbott Fenn Druzhba Award Description and Past Recipients

The Abbott Fenn Druzhba Award is a special recognition of an individual, Camp, or Organization, which has made a significant and sustained contribution to International camping.  The endowed contribution for the award was made by Abbott Fenn, a long-standing, active member of the American Camp Association and former owner/director of the Keewaydin Camps in New England, U.S.A. The award is given to those who spread the benefit of the camp experience to improve world understanding.

  1. Any member of the International Camping Fellowship (Individual, Camp, or Organization) is eligible. Current members of the Board are not eligible, although their Camp or Organization may be considered.
  2. The Award recognizes an individual, Camp, or Organization which has made a significant contribution to International camping, such as development of a new Camping Association, development of an exchange program between countries, development of sponsorships for International programs, or other unique or sustained contribution to the ICF Organization.
Nominations and Selection:

Any member of the International Camping Fellowship may make nominations for the award. Deadline for submission is the scheduled ICF Board Meeting for the current year.

The Board of the International Camping Fellowship makes the selection. It is presented at the Annual Meeting of the International Camping Fellowship. Announcement of the Award will also be made in the Country of the recipient, as appropriate. Up to one award a year is given. Note: The ICF Board cannot be responsible for travel expenses of the recipient. Nominations are retained for consideration at any time.

Link to nomination form


1990Jean McMullan Alford Lake CampUSA
1999Artek International Children’s CenterRussia
2000Minoru MatsudaJapan
2001Armand BallUSA
2002Bill BowkerAustralia
2003Charles Pantin, Hilda CarvalloVenezuela
2004Jack PearseCanada
2006Irene HooperUSA
2008Tetsuo SakaiJapan
2009Tamara TruschkovskayaRussia
2010Richard ChamberlainUSA
2011Don Virgilio L. VergaraMexico
2013Rebyachya Respublika CampRussia
2014Sako TanakaJapan
2016Jenny BowkerAustralia
2017Galina SuhoveykoRussia