Letter of Merit

The ICF Letter Award of Merit recognizes a significant contribution made by an individual, camp or organization to the cause of world understanding and peace through camping.

  1. Any member, affiliate or friend of the International Camping fellowship is eligible.
  2. To be eligible one must be nominated by a current ICF member and the nomination form must be sent through the ICF Ambassador to the ICF Secretary. Nominations made by the members of the ICF Board may be sent directly to the Secretary.
  3. The award recognizes a significant contribution made by an individual, camp or organization, above their normal role or volunteer contribution, which benefits the cause of camping internationally. For example, this contribution may take the form of the organization of, or playing a significant role in the organizing of a major world camping activity or event.
  4. Awards are made by the ICF Board upon the recommendation of the Nominations Sub-Committee, and announced immediately after being made. Presentation are made that the subsequent ICF Annual Meeting or other appropriate international event. The ICF cannot be responsible for the travel expenses of the recipients.
  5. The award takes the form of an ICF letter or certificate identifying the recipient and year of presentation.



2008 Mike Stewart Canada
2008 Claudie Camirand Canada
2008 Armand Ball USA
2008 Dick Chamberlain USA
2008 Connie Coutellier USA
2008 Jack Murdock USA
2014 Dr. Gwynn Powell USA
2014 Chelsea Schwabe USA
2014 Linda Pulliam USA
2018 Zhao Wei China
2020 Mosgortur &KidPro Conference Russia
2020 Peter Katz Canada
2020 Tom Knowlton Canada